Before pressing the Close Store button, you need to unlink all third-party tools and apps from your Shopify account. Some SaaS applications charge a monthly subscription fee. Before terminating your app's subscription, it's important to cancel your Shopify subscription.
Other wise, you may still have to pay a monthly fee for these services. It's important to understand that most apps charge for a full month from the day they're installed on your device. Shopify storage.
In some cases, it makes more sense to wait until the end of the billing cycle to close the store.
Shopify gives you credit when you downgrade your subscription to a paid app . Points are generally based on the number of days remaining in the billing cycle and differences in the new pricing plan.
However, these points can only be used for future in-app purchases. These credits will be lost if you close your Shopify account. Likewise, if you've manually installed the app in your Shopify store, you'll also need to cancel your subscription.
Even if you uninstall the app, the external service provider will still charge you. Therefore, it is better to cancel all subscriptions.
Before you start researching how to delete a Shopify account, you should know that you will not be entitled to any refunds after deletion. Shopify is very clear about refunds; they don't offer any.
However, you can take advantage of the Shopify free trial – no credit card required. The trial period is 14 days. If you are not satisfied, you can cancel the trial at any time.
Outstanding charges must be cleared
This is fairly obvious - but still worth mentioning: any unpaid fees or arrears Shopify must clear. They are paid in full when you close the store, so you must clear them before the store terminates.
If you cancel your Shopify subscription during the billing cycle, you must also clear the final email invoice.
Mobile custom domain
According to Shopify's terms of service, the domain name you purchased will not automatically renew after Shopify cancels your account. Therefore, it is your responsibility to transfer them to another domain registrar before closing your account.
Domain Name Shopify for Mobile Purchases
You must completely transfer the domain to another registrar or risk losing it. You can view and edit several DNS settings in the Shopify admin panel, including:
Remember, you must wait 60 days after purchasing a domain name from Shopify before you are eligible for a transfer. To do this, just unlock your email list domain and add an authorization code with your new host.
The code is displayed on your domain's information page. Once you click Transfer to another provider, you will be prompted for it.
Move third-party domains
If you connect a third-party domain to your Shopify store, you can remove it from your domain list in your Shopify account. Log in to your domain registrar's account and change the DNS settings.
When you transfer your domain to another registrar, you should be aware that the HSTS policy from Shopify will be in effect for 90 days after you close your store. Ideally it would be better to transfer your domain to a registrar that uses HTTPS, other wise whenever someone visits it will display an error message that the site is not secure.
save your information
You may wish to export a CSV file, including your billing history, before closing your store.
How to close your Shopify store
Now that you know the basics, you can check out everything before closing your Shopify store. It's not very complicated, and Shopify's support staff are very helpful if you run into problems.
Good thing: the following process is reversible. Shopify stores information about your store for two years . You can reopen or view the bills associated with your account during this period.
Step 1: Sign in to your store and go to settings
Your first step is to log into your store's admin panel. To do this, just write " your store name.myshopify.com/admin" in the address bar.
You will see a list of options related to your store. In the bottom left corner of the screen, you'll see Tap on "Settings". click it.
Step 2: End your plan
To cancel your store, from the Shopify dashboard.
shopify ends your plan
From here, click Schedule .
Just click Cancel Trial to close your account.
Try - Shopify
Since this store is closed during the free trial, you will not see Account Management in the settings. If you are on a paid plan, the option will be: Cancel Subscription.
Shopify prompts you for your password, then closes your store.
Please note: Once you close your Shopify store, you cannot create a new store with the same store name or domain name.
transfer of store ownership
You can also transfer store ownership to someone else. If you sell your store, Shopify makes it easy to transfer ownership. Just go to your account settings and click on Users and Permissions.
shopify dashboard users and permissions
Just click on Ownership Transfer and enter the required details to complete the transfer.
shopify transfer store ownership
How to Pause Your Shopify Store
If you feel like you're not willing to work full-time on Shopify storage and need a break, you don't have to cancel your subscription and shut down completely.
Instead, Shopify gives you the option to "pause" your store. It's like a temporary pause. It is available in settings that you can access from your account page. There are two options for you to choose from:
Suspend your store completely and leave it as is.
Pause your store to fix the problem.
However, your store needs to be eligible for Shopify's Suspended Program. First, those on Shopify trials cannot be suspended. You must have a paid subscription , and your trial period should have ended at least 60 days ago .
Please note: When you suspend your store, the checkout option will be disabled, but users will still be able to access your online store.
Shopify offers two suspension plans to choose from:
Pause the plan
Pause and Build Plans
Pause the plan
The Shopify Suspension Program allows you to suspend your store for up to three months without a subscription fee. This allows you to step back and look at other things.
This plan prevents you from accessing your Shopify admin panel, selling, or even working on your store. If someone visits your store's URL, they'll get a message telling them that the store is temporarily closed.
You can still ask visitors to enter their email address, which you can use for communications and announcements.
To open your store, just log into your Shopify account and choose a new plan.
When you suspend the store, all app charges are suspended. If there are any outstanding charges, you will be billed for those charges when you choose to pause. When you pause your store, an email will be sent to you confirming the action.